Ramblings of a Misguided Squirrel

~Musings on Life from a Squirrel and her resident Umpa Lumpa~

Tea before Boys (although strictly speaking the other way round ….)

on May 2, 2014

I told you I’d be back!

And here I am.

 

So,  first things first,  le boy incident!

 

Well, twas a fairly light and moderately rainy Saturday morning …..

And a group of intrepid explorers were about to set off on their Duke of Edinburgh Bronze Expedition.

It would be a gruelling trek across the Yorkshire Dales, containing absolutely. no. singing. (At all. That is completely what happened. Nope. Zero singing. Nu-uh. There were no Queen, Disney and Road to EL Dorado repeats. Stop asking questions!)

And camping. There was to be camping.

 

Anyway, when we had walked a ridiculous distance and reached the campsite and set up camp and cooked and all that palaver, all five of us piled into three-man tent to play cards and stuff. Also Truth or Truth (which is identical to Truth or Dare, except with no dares. I think you get the picture). Well, it transpired that one of the boys had a crush on me. The phrase ‘is there any point me asking you out?’ was used. To which the answer was, no, not really, you’re not my type.

 

So there you have it dear readers! There was a short boy thing that happened! And before you ask, we’re cool now.

 

So yeah!

 

 

I’m going to the fair with some friends tomorrow, then off to see my cousin’s concert Sunday night! So busy weekend, but BAnk Holiday Monday and I get to see my cousins, so yay.

 

Also so. much. WORK! Right now! I have pretty much zero free time any more! This is seriously affecting my lunchtime=emergency-homework-for-next-lesson-time-strategy!

 

OH and me and my cousin have started writing letters to each other because who doesn’t love getting things in the post? It’s great!

 

Also I spent about 45 minutes earlier trying to make a cup of tea properly, as opposed to the teabag-mug way. (This is England. We take our tea seriously. I fully expect to start a few arguments with this post).

So first – leaf tea. Yes. You heard me.

A family blend of leaf tea.

(It is not nearly as posh as it sounds – it basically consists of buying a bag of Earl Grey leaf tea and a bag of Yorkshire Gold leaf tea and pouring them both into a leaf-tea-tin because the bag sizes mean the proportions are right)

 

Anyway, so then the leaf tea goes in a tea-pot and you boil a kettle-full of water. Then the bit everyone can agree on – add the water to the tea. Leave it for a while (during which time I spent scouring the house for a cup, not a mug, and saucer which were packed away in the most obscure place!) then pour it through a tea-strainer (another 15 minutes trying to find that) into the mug. Milk after. Stir with a spoon, then drink.

 

So there you have it – leaf-tea in a cup, milk in 2nd, no sugar.

What about you? Since tea is something of a touchy subject around here, please keep the violence to a minimum?

 

You may be wondering why the sudden tea stuff, and well.

You remember my …issue … with finding it impossible to not put Good Omens in my English? Well, it’s kind of … a little … turned into … well …..

 

So my English might end up being a dissertation on tea ……. Featuring Crowley and Aziraphale. Oops.

 

Speaking of, more songs for Eleanor! (Looks like that’ll be a regular thing … both oops and sorry!)

 

I found it on YouTube! I mean it’s a 10/Rose vid which makes me cry anyway, and the song and I love it and just A/C and yeah you made me cry again so well done you.

(Terminal Star by Karine Polwart)

 

Also this gave me feels because of A/C, but also because of Destiel and Cas and general utter, utter misery caused by my favourite ships.

(Rosi Golan – Hazy)

 

And then there’s this which just made me die of tears and misery and oh. Just oh.

oh. oh. oh.

The pain. and lack of words. I am made of tears now.

(Keaton Henson – You)

 

If you must wait,
Wait for them here in my arms as I shake
If you must weep,
Do it right here in my bed as I sleep
If you must mourn, my love
Mourn with the moon and the stars up above
If you must mourn,
Don’t do it alone

If you must leave,
Leave as though fire burns under your feet
If you must speak,
Speak every word as though it were unique
If you must die, sweetheart
Die knowing your life was my life’s best part
And if you must die,
Remember your life

You are
You are
Oh, you are
You are
Oh

If you must fight,
Fight with yourself and your thoughts in the night
If you must work,
Work to leave some part of you on this earth
If you must live, darling one,

Just live
Just live
Just live

Well, if you haven’t all dissolved already, apologies.

Midsummer Night’s Dream rehearsals are going well, life continues as normal, if ridiculously more hectic than is usual, and my GCSEs (mostly mocks, thank god) are coming up soon!

Actual Science GCSEs on 16th of June though …..

Wish me luck!

If I can get my hands on a laptop and am not too caught up in the fair and everything, I’ll see you tomorrow!

If not, Monday.

Promise 😉

Bye!

Beth

xx

 

 

STEVE ALMIGHTY hereby charges you to TELL YOUR THOUGHTS!

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Simon Darvill

Young Labour Chair

failed critics

Home of the Failed Critics Film Podcast, Character Unlock and Underground Nights

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

frailbeach37pmi

Cutie pie baby!!

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

The Dystopian Nation of City-State

A cruel, futuristic vision created by science fiction authors James Courtney and Kaisy Wilkerson-Mills. ©2013-2016. All Rights Reserved. All writings available through Amazon.

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

The Irish Gay

100% Original. 100% Irish.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Sun and Stars

Hannah. 18. England. just waddling through life.

Rohidas Vitthal Sanap: Web Developer/Designer

Enjoying the best moments of Web Development.

O' Happy Fault of Mine

Anything Relevent

Hi, I'm Awkward

A collection of random and awesomely awkward things to enjoy...

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

puisi...............

A great WordPress.com site

Work Less Live More

Live Life By Design, Not By Default.

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Anonymous Storyteller

One cannot be sad, if one has cake, I never have cake.

Beingarandomteenager

I'm old enough to know better, but young enough to do it anyway! :D

Becoming Cliche

My Journey to Becoming My Mother

The Geek Anthropologist

An anthropological approach to all things geek

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

The Random Ramblings of a Devoted Fangirl

The latest fandom news, brought to you by a semi-insane teenager.

Gehenna27

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Second Smile To The Right

The author of this blog is currently on hiatus, but will be back soon. Sumbissions for 'Dear Ari (Advice Page)' are still open and up for answers.

Sun, Sand, Stars and Dreams

The chronicles of a misfit Indian teen

Realms of Academia

Being the adventures of an English major working on a Ph.D. thesis about Terry Pratchett's Discworld novels.

Doctor δ³Σx²

He's like fire and ice and rage, he's like the night, and the storm in the heart of the sun. he's ancient and forever, he burns at the center of time, and sees the turn of the universe, and he's wonderful.

The Ultimate Girl Guide

All your teen problems sorted

Seven Sisters Press

A writer's world

Of, Through, To

A Blog by Melissa Wharton

For The Win

Philipians 3:14 ~ John 14:1-4

The Independence of a 22 Year Old

Just a little gay wandering through life

Thoughts of a Fangirl in Fandomland

Memoirs of a Girl Lost in Fandomland

Kaela Prall-Moore

Write. Rewrite. Repeat.

LadyRomp

Inspirational Blog for Women

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

